Sit a While, but Stay

Posted on Updated on

These last few weeks I’ve noticed a couple of bloggers I really like disappear. Not just go silent for a bit, as we all have to do now and then, but actually shut down their sites. Every time I see one of those notices my stomach lurches a little at the thought of all the work they’ve put in for years just totally vanish forever. I always miss them, and I wonder what it was that pushed them over the edge, or made the idea of blogging any more just seem too much. Maybe it’s because a lot of us have really high expectations of ourselves, and we sometimes think that not being able to work pretty much 24/7 equals failure. So we spread ourselves too thin, take on too much, agree with too much, because we’re too nice to ever say no. Procrastination and having a bit of fun are big evils and never to be tolerated. Maybe we think wrong though.

death

I’ve seen loads of articles on how to beat procrastination, or laziness, depending which word you prefer to use. I’ve also seen a couple of truly lazy buggers who really do just want to sit around doing nothing all the time. I understand when severe depression can lead to a couple of days on the couch watching reruns and mindlessly munching ice-cream, but that’s not the kind of sofa driving I mean. I believe that now and then we should all be as lazy as we like – not that I’ve had time for a good laze myself for a while now, so hopefully nobody thinks that I mean me.

HVDY

Humans are the only creatures on the planet who feel pressure to always be doing something constructive. Other animals take goodly chunks of their days to just hang around staring into the distance doing absolutely nothing – unless they’re being chased by some toothy thing, or in a stressful situation. I believe this is good for you – a bit of inward gazing soul food maybe, and the lack of it a possible reason for us being the most peculiar species in the world. So, even though I don’t (YET) practice what I preach, I honestly think that a bit of procrastination, doing nothing at all, or something silly or apparently trivial should be included in all of our lives.

lazy

Lazy – funny – all good.

game

I have serious problems with jobs waiting to be done. They lurk in the corners of my mind, and generally taint whatever else it is that I’m doing at the time. Occasionally it all just seems like too much, and then brain-freeze ensues, where all that there is, is panic and guilt bouncing between ears, and that makes for nothing at all to be done. And then more panic and guilt, and your very last marble finally sneaks off to try and lose itself. Then a little lala land followed by a, “Well, buggritt. Everyone’s going to hate me anyway – I’m off to watch some TV” could easily happen.

bugger

Maybe this is what happens to many of the people who disappear from the bloggerverse. It’s a shame though, because most people don’t see us the way we see ourselves, and they definitely don’t have the same crazy expectations of us. While you’re thinking that people see you as lazy, indifferent, selfish and downright rude, the opposite is probably true. And if they think you’re a tool for reasons of their own. Well…

nice

I personally haven’t managed to stop my zoomy ways, but I will when I’m caught up to where I want to be, and that won’t be too far in the future. And then I’m definitely going to get my lazy on at least a couple of times every week. Don’t make the rules that you make for yourself too tough, but if you do, and find that you can’t keep up, change them – slow down for at least a while – take all the time that you need. The people who genuinely like you would much rather have you in their world less often, than for you to disappear entirely.

time

New Release – Finally Back Home – Irfaan Ihsan Jaffer

Posted on Updated on

jorobinson176:

New book release from an awesome talent, and favourite poet of mine.

Originally posted on Feed My Reads South Africa:

An inspirational first collection of mystic spiritual poetry from Canadian author Irfaan Ihsan Jaffer . These poems are “songs of the soul” in the tradition of Rumi and Kahlil Gibran.

Irfaan “Ihsan” Jaffer is currently a Doctoral candidate at York University in Canada, Ontario. He studies comparative religion and the application of religious mysticism in the modern world. Two things have influenced Ihsan’s poetry. The first is his experiences in the spiritual exercise known as the latihan. More information can be found at http://www.subud.com/spiritual.html. The second is the sacred texts, spiritual practices and founders/saints of the world’s great religions in general, and his own in particular.

View original

Monday Funnies – Request!

Posted on

Originally posted on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog..... An Author Promotions Enterprise!:

By special request from Erik (ThisKidReviewsBooks)

Abbot and Costello – Who’s on First?

View original

Warrior

Posted on Updated on

Warrior

In those old times of war and blight
Faces turned from crimes of day and night
Chose not to see our world die behind lie on lie
When those fiery riders came that final time, to forever shield the light
Falling scales of apathy, too late forced truth to every shuttered eye
It was too late to rebel. Too late to fight

She rose from the ashes after those fire years. That warrior lord
When the Earth could take no more
She allowed no further crime to wound the face of God
She called her hidden armies, so ridiculed before
They came from their secret places, and their places of helpless war
To protect the weak and the voiceless with swords that cut and burned. Words no more

Now we see those wrongs that we unthinking wrought
Those unseen evils of greed, and stolen beauty bought
Shame-filled tears too late for those gone before
Too late for this Earth shrouded in endless night
The warrior lord watches. It is our world no more
Now is time for rebirth. Of the innocent and the wild
The moment of man is done now. Too little, too late, emblazons our shrine,
And the warrior’s sword falls only for the souls of light.

I Write Like……… Me

Posted on Updated on

I’m pretty sure that I’ve sent everyone’s books to them from the International Authors Day giveaway, but my WordPress site is still not showing me all my comments, so if I’ve missed anyone please drop me a note from the Contact Me tab above and I’ll send them right along.

I’ve written a good couple of new chunks of my WIPs this week in spite of some serious noise from a couple of guys tearing down a wall in the yard to rebuild. Now I’m catching up with emails, and spotted one of those links that you know you don’t have time to play with, but do anyway.

Because I also want to write like Stephen King, I headed off to I Write Like to be analysed. You just copy and paste a couple of paragraphs of your writing and it lets you know what famous writer’s style you have. You get a badge and all. So I copied a bit of Lesser Being and got given this badge:

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Fair enough – fair enough – he did write The Last of the Mohicans after all, but I still wanted to write like Stephen King, and dear James is really old-fashioned – and dead too, so I plonked a bit of African Me & Satellite TV in there instead, and got this badge:

I write like
Anne Rice

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Bugger…. I decided to see if Shadow People 1 would get me the Stephen King badge, but I actually got another Anne Rice, which at least shows a bit of conformity, and I did log off totally in between goes just in case. My final desperate attempt for a King badge got me:

I write like
Mary Shelley

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Baaah! I give up now – I guess I’m going to have to write a couple of vampire and undead books. Come to think of it – I do have a WIP lurking somewhere along those lines…..

Boo

Three Ingredients II – 6: Turnips, Onions, Sauerkraut

Posted on

jorobinson176:

Teagan turns turnips into literature brilliantly!

Originally posted on Teagan's Books:

Casper cookingWelcome back everyone! I’m pleased to tell you that today’s ingredients were sent by a reader who hasn’t always been with us here at Teagan’s Books – Jo Robinson.

Jo lives in beautiful South Africa, and has written quite a remarkable collection of stories.  She has a wonderful imagination.  For instance in her novel “The Shadow People, The Finding” characters are hurled across time and space, and find themselves on Lapillus, a beautiful world made up of precious gems.  (If you had any idea what a self-proclaimed “rock geek” I am, you’d understand that is a huge attraction. I have such a thing for semiprecious gems…)

Jo says all creatures feathered and furred inspire her writing, so I’m curious to know which of the “critters” in our serial she likes best.

Jo Robinson bk

This week’s ingredients have remarkable health benefits.  I never knew that about sauerkraut!  Another reader, Sally at “Smorgasbord…

View original 2,846 more words

My writing process blog hop

Posted on

Originally posted on Melanie Toye - Engaging, Creative, Storyteller:

Thank you to the lovely and sweet Jo Robinson who tagged me in the ‘My Writing Process Blog Hop.’ I enjoy reading Jo’s blog as her personality and outlook on life really shines through her work. Be sure to follow Jo’s blog here: http://africolonialstories.wordpress.com/ and buy her books here: http://africolonialstories.wordpress.com/books-international-links/

The idea with this Hop, is to answer a couple of questions about my writing process, and then nominate the blogs of three other writers who inspire me to do the same. If these three choose to Hop along, they would then post their writing process blogs the following week, together with links to this post, and the sites of their three nominees.

The Questions:

  1. What are you working on?

I am always working on various writing projects. I am a freelance writer and write regularly blogs and articles for businesses, as well as updating their website content. It is fun and has me…

View original 845 more words