Bird Blues and Fan Fiction

Posted on Updated on

My poor blog has grown cobwebs during this last rotten week. My parrot is better than he was, but still not nearly right yet. I had to give him the medication that I really didn’t want to. I honestly thought he was close to death, and sometimes even if a cure is hard, you still have to try. I couldn’t get to my computer though. He refused to be left alone, and insisted on trying to follow. Then because he was so weak, he kept falling down, so I gave up and went to the lounge where there was no chance of the poor guy hitting the deck. The rest of the horde were strangely silent, all just hanging around him, with no tail pulling at all. I think they knew just how bad things were.

Apart from having to boil everything that the birds sit on or sleep in, in vinegar water every day – realistically the whole house is their oyster, I’ve had about twelve hours sleep all week, trying to make sure that he didn’t rip his wounds open at night. Now I feel like I’ve gone a couple of rounds with Mike Tyson, and keep on nodding off. He’s had a couple of small bleeds, but now he’s definitely out of the woods, and I’ve got bags of other drugs to treat the rest of the horde, so hopefully disaster’s been averted. I must say, it feels good to be back here, and thank you to my lovely friends for your well wishes and concern! I really appreciate it so much that you care.

On the scribbling front, I spotted a press release from Amazon in my inbox. I’ve never tried writing fan-fiction before, but after reading this, it seems kind of exciting, so when I’m up to date (in around 2019 I would imagine), I’m going to have a go. A couple of years ago I thought that this sort of thing was really just plagiarism, but I’m thinking that it really can’t be with the original author’s blessing, and it sounds like a bit of fun. Not to mention sharing the royalties with the big wigs. You could name drop too. “My co-writer Barbra Annino says….”, sort of thing. After reading a few different takes on some of the old classics, I’ve warmed to this a little also. I enjoyed the modern sequel to Gone With The Wind, and some of the old fairy tales have been reworked brilliantly. Others not so much, but never mind, that’s not the point of the day.

The stories that are in the game so far are:
Pretty Little Liars: Stained by Barbra Annino
The Vampire Diaries: The Arrival by Lauren Barnholdt & Aaron Gorvine
Shadowman: Salvation Sally by Tom King
The Foreworld Saga: The Qian by Aric Davis
X-O Manowar: Noughts and Crosses by Stuart Moore

I haven’t seen or read any of these yet, so I’ll lurk around and see what else pops up, but I thought some of you might want to have a bash at legally sharing dollars with the rich and famous. Sounds like a win win situation to me.

Till next time friends.

image001

8 thoughts on “Bird Blues and Fan Fiction

    ihidemychocolate said:
    June 28, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    I am so relieved to hear that your parrot is on the mend. I’ve been thinking about you and your birds all week! My family has started asking me on a daily basis how he’s doing – I am so happy to have good news to report. Get some rest!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 29, 2013 at 12:57 pm

      Your family sounds so incredibly sweet and loving! Thank them, and you especially. My little guy has found himself an appetite again, and munching anything that comes his way. It’s amazing how when you go through such a tense week, when the relief comes you just want to conk out and sleep for weeks. 😀

      Like

    Marian Allen said:
    June 28, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    I’ve just “discovered” Barbara Annino’s Stacey Justice series and I LOVE ’em! I started out by writing fanfiction, so if Amazon adds something I read/watch and love, I’m definitely in!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 29, 2013 at 12:50 pm

      I’m hoping for Terry Pratchett! It will be brilliant if they add some of the really big guys – like Stephen King – I’d love a go at some of his books. I imagine it must be quite hard to do though, adjusting your style to another writer’s.

      Like

        Marian Allen said:
        June 29, 2013 at 4:04 pm

        Terry Pratchett would be AWESOME! Actually, it’s all too easy to copy the style of a strong stylist. King would be hard for me, because I don’t “get” his style. I just don’t see the style of his prose. Dickens, Hemingway, Austen, Pratchett, are all strong in style, and would be easy to copy.

        Like

          jorobinson176 responded:
          June 30, 2013 at 10:59 am

          I reckon King breaks the rules a lot. If you got one of the pucker grammar police to edit one of his without knowing who’d written it, it would be scribbled to death. 😀 I really think I might have a go at one of the oldies now that you mention it! Those are mostly PD anyway, so they don’t get to sue anyone. Cool Marian! You come up with the most brilliant schemes. 😀

          Like

    LucyPireel said:
    June 28, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    Good the see Beep Beep slowly coming back to health again. Now don’t you go falling down steps while walking asleep. 🙂
    xoxo

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 29, 2013 at 12:45 pm

      Thank you Lucy dearie – I know you’re busy, busy, busy, but you have to have the two in one, because you’re awesome! I think I’m too tired to sleepwalk now though – well – maybe to the fridge…. 😀 xxx

      Like

Leave a comment