Nosy Neighbour – Oh Dear.

Posted on Updated on

Well, I can’t help it. I’m a writer. Our new neighbours are very quiet and civilised. I haven’t spotted them doing anything interesting at all, no matter how hard I peer. But there’s a ray of hope now. The guy who lives behind us screamed like a girl the other day. A pucker blood-curdling, hair-raising, drawn out, EEEEEEEEEK! We have walls around the whole perimeter, and unfortunately they’re too tall for me to get my nose over, so I was left to lurk a bit, wondering if I should call an ambulance or something. Then after a few minutes of absolute silence he launched into a string of swearwords so sublime that I felt obliged to trot to my desk and take notes. I can only imagine what terrible thing must have happened to the poor fellow.

Then…. Yesterday, shortly after sunup, I caught a whiff of smoke. Until very recently, back where we lived in the Zimbabwean bush, any sort of whiff of smoke was cause for concern. So I instinctively zoomed over to the lounge window and had a look out. I’ve never noticed before, but from that particular spot of window you can see into a bit of his yard, because that section of this house is quite high off the ground. And lo and behold, I got my first actual eyeful of my worthy neighbour. Wearing only his underwear. Itty bittie little thing it was too. I think they’re called banana hammocks. Ha ha haaaaaa! What joy! He’s not a hottie in any way. Don’t get me wrong. He’s short, slightly portly, somewhat grey, and balding. But he’s interesting. I expect great things from him in the future.

From the whisp of smoke rising from the other side of the wall, it’s safe to say that he was burning something. His clothes maybe? He poked it around for a bit, seemingly quite cool about wandering in the garden in his tiny pair of tinies at the crack of dawn, and then disappeared from my eager view leaving me eyeballing a surprisingly pert posterior jiggling off to get up to who knows what. Next time I’ll try and catch his eye and say hi I think. He looks like prime story fodder to me, and I really want to know about that scream. And why he doesn’t wear bigger pants.

Somewhere along the line I’m sure he’ll end up in a story. People are too trusting of us scribblers and our unnaturally keen interest in hearing what they have to say. We probably come across as really likeable too with the amount of interest we show in everything, when really we’re just naturally nosy. Or maybe that’s just me. Never mind. Now I really need to find another sweet spot window so I can see if my other neighbours do anything interesting when they think no one’s watching. 😀

Nosy Neighbour (2)

19 thoughts on “Nosy Neighbour – Oh Dear.

    The Story Reading Ape said:
    September 21, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    LMAO Jo, you’ll be googling for periscope suppliers/installers next LOL Maybe I need to send him your blog address and tell him to live a more interesting life for you LOL 🙂

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      September 22, 2013 at 12:42 pm

      Yes! LOL! Binos AND a periscope for me!! Imagine if he’s a blogger! I’ll have to infiltrate his house I’m thinking now…. 😀

      Like

        The Story Reading Ape said:
        September 22, 2013 at 12:50 pm

        You could think of it as RESEARCH for your next EXPOSE (with an accent that my keyboard won’t give me LOL)

        Like

          jorobinson176 responded:
          September 22, 2013 at 12:54 pm

          But it is dear furry one! It really is! Heh heh. 😉

          Like

        The Story Reading Ape said:
        September 22, 2013 at 12:51 pm

        BTW your freebies are now on my freebies and an update post has gone live for them 🙂

        Like

    glenperk said:
    September 21, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    Jo, Jo, Jo. You silly girl you. Banana hammock, lmao, that’s rich. Was it of an alligator so when you see the open mouth you’ll know what caused it. 🙂

    Glen

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      September 22, 2013 at 12:40 pm

      HA HAAAAA Glen! I haven’t got a clue what you mean! You know I’m dim that way. Do you mean did it have a tick? Heeeee! 😀

      Like

    Constance said:
    September 21, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    oh goodness! that is crazy. I love that picture, btw. and I felt like I was right there being nosy with you. Fun!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      September 22, 2013 at 12:38 pm

      Cool Constance! And thanks for liking my picture scribble. Angus laughed at me when I said it was for my blog. 😀

      Like

    John W. Howell said:
    September 21, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    Very nice post. I love to capture weirdness

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      September 22, 2013 at 12:37 pm

      Thanks John! That’s the great thing about having so many people around now – mine doesn’t stand out so much any more. 😉

      Like

    Vashti Quiroz-Vega said:
    September 21, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    Ha,ha,ha! Fun read Jo! You’ve got me wondering about that shriek you heard, and what the heck was he burning? You definitely need to get a pair of binoculars so you can better keep us informed. 😉

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      September 22, 2013 at 12:36 pm

      Binos!!!! That’s exactly what I need Vashti. Imagine how much more I could see! I’ll get a pair & keep my phone handy too so I can take pics. I’ll definitely let you know what I uncover. Sounds dodgy doesn’t it? I knew I was right to peep. 😀

      Like

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction said:
    September 22, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Oh, my! Hysterical!

    Like

    ghostbusterbev said:
    September 23, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    Let’s hope your neighbor doesn’t snoop around and find this post about him! ha ha!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      September 29, 2013 at 1:04 pm

      Maybe he did! He hasn’t so much as exposed a kneecap since. 😀

      Like

    Kev said:
    October 28, 2013 at 6:55 am

    This is so funny! Banana hammock! Little thing! Well I’m so glad I snooped around and found this Jo…you got my day off to a great start! lmao

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      October 28, 2013 at 3:13 pm

      Ha haaaa! That was a sight to see Kev, and now you’ve cheered me up too reminding me of it too. Grand Monday now. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

