Surviving BIG Blogging Mistakes

Posted on

7 thoughts on “Surviving BIG Blogging Mistakes

    billyraychitwood1 said:
    February 19, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    Jo, it’s not unusual at all for me when reading a book (mainstream publisher or self-publisher) to find a minor mistake here and there. I will notice those small mistakes (an unfinished quote mark, a verb tense disagreement, a bad analogy, metaphor, simile, a spelling goof like one I made in my first book – ‘peak’ for ‘peek’ (that one still bothers me :-)) – but if the book is good and holds my interest, there’s not a problem for me. Now the real dumb ones, yeah, like those you mention, it’s difficult for me to understand why an author who self-publishes would not catch them. Over all, it is human to err and we authors do that on occasion – some of us on too many occasions – but I believe one can tell good writing if he/she is moved by it, gets carried away by the pace, has feelings for the characters, likes the writing style, on and on. With all the re-writing and editing, there comes a time when I want to be finished with the book (love it, but just want to move on to another project) and that is most likely when a careless mistake is made.

    I ramble — sorry!

    Billy Ray

    Like

      billyraychitwood1 said:
      February 19, 2014 at 7:28 pm

      Jo, I know you were essentially talking about blogging but it is all the same to me – writing! Like you, I hate it when I make mistakes.

      Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      February 20, 2014 at 1:10 pm

      What a lovely ramble Billy Ray! I’m very forgiving of a few typos if I’m moved by a story. I get furious with myself if I find mistakes though. I had a massive problem with exclamation marks when I first published Shadow People – you don’t really notice these things so much on the print out. I’ve taken to wandering around the yard and reading my work out loud now. Vitamin D – exercise – editing – and yet another wonderful opportunity to make my neighbours fear me. 😀 Thank you for all those wonderful points.

      Like

    Kev said:
    February 19, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    I’ll sometimes delete a post after doing ’cause I think it’s so bad lol…we all do it Jo, you’ll recover the numbers. Thing is: most of us know, we do it too and so overlook a lot. People who have followed you for a while are going to know that you do write great posts and they’ll be back. 😉

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      February 20, 2014 at 1:05 pm

      I reblogged this from Communicate Kev. 😀 I haven’t got a clue how to operate those statistic thingies. I did delete one of my earlier rants about PayPal when I was still living in Zimbabwe and couldn’t have it. Now I do have it so I LUV PayPal. 😉 Thank you my lovely friend.

      Like

        Kev said:
        February 20, 2014 at 7:07 pm

        lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

