The What You’re Allowed to Read Police

Posted on Updated on

I’m not going to be doing much until Monday, then I’ll catch up with all the posts I have due. I’ve decided to give myself four days off, just to properly give my old bod a bit of a treat after the hammering it’s taken the last couple of weeks. I suspect that I won’t actually clock out right now, but I seriously don’t have the energy to do much more than read some blogs and hit a like button or two. I’m reasoning that now I’m starting to feel a bit human again, I’ll be munching a bit more than I have been lately, and so should be ready to resume the zooming in a couple of days. My usual guilt at not being around much lately tried to kick in, but this time I whacked it on the noodle. Sometimes you just have to slow right down, or you’ll end up falling properly on your bum, and those hard falls can be hard to get up from. So. Holiday mode day one of four.

computing

I have been reading blogs around and about, even though I really don’t have the energy to do much else, and I’ve noticed a lot of fuss about adults reading YA books, as in Read whatever you want. But you should be embarrassed when what you’re reading was written for children.. Pardon? Since when should anyone be embarrassed about what they choose to read? I’ll read whatever the hell I want to, thank you very much.

no-11

It seems rather pathetic to me to try and fit what you read into such specific sizes. That’s all very well for clothes or shoes – you will most certainly look like a tool wearing a giant babygro in your twenties, so yes, wear adult clothing, but the thought of someone saying that now that you’ve hit a certain age, you must read literary books written specifically for adults makes me cross. What you read, and when you read it, is entirely your business, and also dependant on how alert your parents are. I had read Valley of the Dolls, all of Jilly Cooper’s books, and quite of lot of REALLY adult books by the time I was thirteen, and now that I couldn’t be mistaken for anything other than a pucker adult, I not only enjoy reading YA books now and then, but I still revisit Beatrix Potter, and other childhood books too.

bp

What you read is entirely your personal decision, and you should never be embarrassed about it EVER. What next? You will ONLY wear red undies on Mondays, because pink is NOT for grownups. Naah. Down with all these Must Do police popping up all over the place.

funny_animal_gif_animations_05

21 thoughts on “The What You’re Allowed to Read Police

    Charles Yallowitz said:
    June 18, 2014 at 11:45 am

    Enjoy your vacation. As for the ‘YA shame’ thing, I think some people are obsessed with acting like an ‘adult’. They’re so focused on being seen as mature that anything associated with youth is taboo. So they end up trying to push this on others because they think they know better. While reading the posts and articles, I kept wondering one thing: How many of the naysayers read or saw ‘Harry Potter’ and do they feel shame?

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 6:48 am

      This vacation is really cool Charles – totally amazing to just have some time off. We’re the hardest bosses to work for us scribblers I reckon. I wonder if she’s including the Harry Potter books in her rant now that you mention it. And how about Lord of the Rings. I bet you’re totally right – movies probably don’t count. Silly buggers. 🙂

      Like

        Charles Yallowitz said:
        June 19, 2014 at 10:43 am

        Guess YA is only shameful if it isn’t highly popular and has movies. 😀 Scribblers are horrible taskmasters.

        Like

    John W. Howell said:
    June 18, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Hope your time off recharges what ever needs recharging. The can do police are always going to have an opinion on what readers can read and importantly what writers can write. People should read what ever they choose and be left alone with that choice.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 6:45 am

      Thank you John – recharging is really working! These self styled coppers always get up my nostril – I should probably ignore them, but it bothers me that any young person would read such a thing, and then just to be cool chop a whole universe of good books out of their reading. 🙂

      Like

        John W. Howell said:
        June 19, 2014 at 12:45 pm

        So true. Loved the comment “up my nostril.” Need to use that in place of “chafe my ass.” (it seems more refined somehow)

        Like

    The Story Reading Ape said:
    June 18, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    I agree – I read and enjoy a lot of Kid’s Books and often revisit favourites. But then, I’m just a 64 y.o. going on 10 y.o. at heart anyway (‘scuse me, just off to get a lollypop to lick) – have a GREAT rest Jo 😀

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 6:42 am

      Thank you Chris! This is the first time in a couple of years that I’ve taken any days off on purpose – it’s really quite cool. Sugar – aaaargh – eek, screech, rush up a tree! *Wraps face in garlic* 😀 X

      Like

        The Story Reading Ape said:
        June 19, 2014 at 6:48 am

        LOL – days off are a treat to ENJOY Jo 😀 😀 😀 X

        Like

          jorobinson176 responded:
          June 19, 2014 at 9:25 am

          If I get bored and start misbehaving, I’ll give myself a warning and dock my wages. 😀 😉 🙂

          Like

            The Story Reading Ape said:
            June 19, 2014 at 9:30 am

            LOL, you’ve already GROUNDED yourself, so you can’t spend your wages anyway LOL 😀

            Like

    First Night Design said:
    June 18, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    Hear, hear! How ludicrous people are.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 6:40 am

      Ludicrous is so true, and pretentious too – no reader worth their salt would be embarrassed at any such thing. 🙂

      Like

    Mira Prabhu said:
    June 18, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    Great post, Jo, had a big smile on my face as i read it…and i do need cheering up…summer flu begone!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 6:39 am

      Thanks Mira! Summer flu’s the pits – when everyone’s having fun in the sun except you – nuke it with mega doses of Vit C – a good couple of thousand mg a day. Hope you’re feeling better soon. HUGS 🙂 XXXX

      Like

    Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. said:
    June 18, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Thanks Jo and great graphics to go along with it. Just off to read my Beano in the sunshine – glad you are feeling better and for someone who is feeling a little off colour you can still fire off a broadside…..X

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 6:37 am

      Pleasure Sally! I haven’t seen a Beano in years – used to love those, and excellent reading for adults in my book. I’ve given up on stressing this week so as not to sugar spike my bloodstream 😀 even though I’ve fallen so far behind again. I’m still having a couple of die back symptoms & that’s why the couple of days off – just in case it’s not over. Silly buggers need a broadside sometimes, although I’m chuffed my sense of humour seems to be surfacing a bit now again. HUGS XXXXXXXX

      Like

    rcprice said:
    June 18, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    It’s all about reading a good story whether it’s YA or “Adult.” Sometimes there are words of wisdom in a good YA book that an adult still needs.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 19, 2014 at 6:28 am

      I totally agree – it seems so silly to exclude so many wonderful books from your reading because it’s not written for “adults” – amazing what wannabe gatekeepers keep thinking up. 🙂

      Like

    Margaret Lynette Sharp said:
    June 19, 2014 at 5:42 am

    So cute 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

