The Writers Shack Rocks

Posted on Updated on

A while ago, before being struck down by sugar and almost expiring entirely, I won second prize in the really, really cool The Writers Shack Biggest Book Giveaway Ever. I’ve got piles of fantastic new ebooks, and then today I got a couple of wonderful surprises too. The Writers Shack is a favourite site to pop into – there’s always something good happening over there.

I was expecting a parcel of my own books. You never know how these will arrive around here though – sometimes I get them from the post office, and sometimes a really zoomy Fedex driver arrives at warp speed in the driveway and tosses them at me out of his window. Anyway, I’d got my notification that my books had been shipped, and then I got the post office slip, so I assumed these were them. Not so keen on the post office though – I reckon those guys study for years to perfect the art of ultimate slowness, and rudeness immaculate in its delivery every time. This morning I almost got annoyed (I don’t often get annoyed, because I generally find people fascinating, even when they’re being gigantic tools). I came close today only because I had to hold my jeans up as well as my cellphone and bits and pieces. This no sugar and carb thing really does the trick by the way, so skinny jeans aren’t at all skinny anymore, and I had no desire to flash my bum at the worthy citizens of this little town.

That postal guy accidently (maybe not though – he was really GOOD at doing strange things), flung his stapler all the way across the room, spent twenty five minutes trying to fix it – failed – and then wandered off for half an hour. When he came back, he glared at me for a while, then wandered off some more. Finally he came back with two small parcels, dropped my ID in between the wall and the back of his desk, and tried to write with his pen while holding it upside down. You can’t get annoyed with that kind of talent, and even more impressive – while doing all of these amazing things, he never uttered a single word. So I just smiled and held on to my pants while he fished my ID out from a behind a pile of stuff under his desk with a ruler. Anyway. Turns out that these two parcels held two paperback books sent to me by their authors as part of my win on The Writers Shack Giveaway.

I’m so chuffed and impressed I can’t stop grinning. I know that it’s expensive to ship books across the globe to South Africa, but that to me is money well spent, because these two authors have just got themselves one new die-hard fan each. Both of these books are genres that I enjoy, and reading them is going to be an absolute pleasure. So thank you very much to Riley Banks for sending me her book, Vampire Origins.

http://www.amazon.com/Vampire-Origins-Ichorous-Riley-Banks-ebook/dp/B00CFX8NU4/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=1-1-catcorr&qid=1404123944

Riley Banks

I love medical mysteries, so thank you so very much to Candace Calvert for not only sending me a copy of her book Trauma Plan, but especially for including a lovely handwritten note and some wonderfully useful bookmarks. I really loved that.

http://www.amazon.com/Trauma-Grace-Medical-Candace-Calvert-ebook/dp/B007TW1YOS/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1404124267&sr=1-1&keywords=trauma+plan+candace+calvert

Candace Calvert

20 thoughts on “The Writers Shack Rocks

    Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. said:
    June 30, 2014 at 11:03 am

    What a great surprise and even though I tend to read my books on my Kobo there are days when I just want to hold and read a real book! Love the guy in the post office, I think his sister must have emigrated to our local one. Customer service with a snarl……lovely post as always. XX

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      June 30, 2014 at 11:20 am

      I really wasn’t expecting anyone to go to the trouble of posting me their books, so it really was getting cool pressies out of the blue – still grinning at them parked on my desk now. LOL! I reckon those postal guys live in some alternate universe, and we’re just a bother to all of them. It was hard not to laugh when it came to the pen though, because he looked straight up at me when he did it – like double dare you to chuckle stare. 😀 XXXXX

      Like

    Charles Yallowitz said:
    June 30, 2014 at 11:25 am

    Wow. That guy has some talent. Hope a security camera caught all that and puts him on Youtube. He’ll be a star . . . that I’ll promptly ignore. 😀 Congrats on the books.

    Like

    John W. Howell said:
    June 30, 2014 at 12:53 pm

    There must be a secret school for postal workers where they all learn the art of customer dissatisfaction. Congrats on the books and for not expiring.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 3, 2014 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks John! I reckon I’m some sort of weed – really not easy to kill. 😀 That guy had me wondering if Terry Pratchett and Tom Sharpe weren’t responsible for the postal workers training manual. They would have got that spot on.

      Like

    The Story Reading Ape said:
    June 30, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    LOL – if he’s not careful he could end up as a Baddie in one of your books Jo LOL 😀
    It was a VERY nice personal touch to send you a note as well 😀

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 3, 2014 at 12:39 pm

      It’s a funny thing how the groupie in me kicks in when any author takes the time to notice me. When I won Taona D Chiveneko’s The Hangman’s Replacement I really did scream like a girl – ok I am a girl – point taken 😀 when he posted me the paper version, even though he didn’t have to. Even though I LOVED that book, I’ll never forget him, and I regularly pop around to see if he’s published anything else. 😀

      Like

    ioniamartin said:
    June 30, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    I still love paper books. That sounds like a really cool place for bookish people!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 3, 2014 at 12:35 pm

      It’s lovely! I must say it was like winning at the one armed bandit when those ebooks started rolling in – kaching, kaching! I also love paper books, although I don’t read many these days. I’ve got a basic Kindle (it’s really hard trying to get any of the smarter ones around here), and I love reading on it. 🙂

      Like

    gillswriting said:
    June 30, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    Still giggling crazily, thanks as always Jo. xxx

    PS the image of you holding up your pants whilst watching that pantomine is priceless!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 3, 2014 at 12:33 pm

      LOLOL! I got some really funny looks too from the people around, but what the hell – we live in our own bubbles of love us scribblers. HUGS Gill! ❤ X

      Like

    olganm said:
    June 30, 2014 at 11:08 pm

    At least it was all worthy…Maybe he was trying to make you drop your trousers! Lovely surprise though!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 3, 2014 at 12:00 pm

      Ha haaaaa! I don’t think that guy had any humour in his whole body – if I’d lost the pants, I’d probably have got a erasor in the eye or something – funny! 😀 😀 😀 I’m loving my books though – I have a very strict TBR list though because it’s been such a hectic year I haven’t been getting to my reading, so they’ll take their place in line.

      Like

    M T McGuire said:
    July 2, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    I think I’d have probably got the giggles in the post office. The diet sounds good. Is this the one that gave you flu for a week? Basically, vegetables and meat but nothing with residual sugars like fruit? And eating lots of coconut oil? Not sure I could do it but I’m tempted.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 3, 2014 at 11:51 am

      I actually started to giggle with the upside down pen, but that guy had eyeballs that could maim at a metre, so I shut up instead. 😀 When I went on this diet to lose a bit of my bum, I set off a massive candida die back thing – didn’t even know I had it. Those yeast jobbies turn into fungus (they’re only supposed to do that when you die apparently & then break down your mortal remains urgle) and they get into and around your entire body, organs & so on. I didn’t know what was happening – kidney, lungs, brain, the whole lot went haywire with pain for weeks – really thought I was going to clock out, so probably a good thing to ease your way in – just in case – with the things that actually kill candida. The thing is to cut out all sugar & replace with stevia or xylitol (xylitol kills dogs though so not for Fidos) & cut your carbs down to no more than 20 – 30 grams a day if you have to have them. If you buy coconut & buckwheat flour you can make the most amazingly cool cheese scones & bread & things. I reckon that if you get your substitutes in first & make a few treats, it wont be hard. You can eat veggies & all the proteins, but not milk I don’t think. The coconut oil & flour is amazing stuff – it tastes like you’re being wicked, but it’s good for you & I’ve been missing my bum a bit now to be honest – it’s a really good diet & not painful if your insides haven’t been invaded by killer fungususus. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

