Miedo by Kevin Cooper – My Review

Posted on

It’s not often that my jaw physically drops when I’m reading a book, especially in a biographical drama where you know you can expect a real life shocker or two, so you’re pretty much expecting them to come. I had a couple of those moments reading Miedo with the matter of fact way that Kevin Cooper tells his story. I read it in two sittings, because at every point you just have to know what happens next, and now I’m hoping that there will be much more to come from Miedo.
The author has a unique way of drawing you into these early years in a way that will keep you riveted, and the mixture of joy, shock, and some real hair-raising terror that are so skilfully woven into some of the delights of childhood not only had me right there in Miedo’s life, but also remembering things about my own childhood that I’m sure I wouldn’t have otherwise. The descriptive scenes in this book did for me what very few books do, and had me not only seeing the apple tree in the garden, but smelling the blossoms too. Even if the characters in this book were all fictitious it still makes for a five star read, and believe me when I say that a couple of them, like Miedo’s sisters, make for some definite jaw-dropping moments. For all the twists and turns in this child’s life, even though I was sometimes appalled at some of the things that happened to him, his strength shines through always, and you always feel rather safe and somehow comfortable in his presence. Wonderful reading, and I fully recommend it.

http://www.amazon.com/MIEDO-Living-Beyond-Childhood-Fear-ebook/dp/B00EVXZPI4/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1405335088&sr=1-1&keywords=miedo+by+kevin+cooper

14 thoughts on “Miedo by Kevin Cooper – My Review

    jorobinson176 responded:
    July 14, 2014 at 10:53 am

    Reblogged this on Feed My Reads South Africa.

    Like

    Peter Wells aka Countingducks said:
    July 14, 2014 at 11:12 am

    I have to say a glowing review from you is a glowing review indeed. I will make the effort to obtain this book and read it, on your say so alone, which is a rare thing for me.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 14, 2014 at 12:10 pm

      Thanks Peter! Expect the unexpected with this one. There are a couple of bits that I would love to share, but I think that would spoil the bits where your eyes widen or you have a good chuckle. I’m particularly fond of memoirs, but quite a lot of them can be really boring – only a few have caught my interest enough to read to the end. This was a doozy.

      Like

    T Ibara Photo said:
    July 14, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    You’ve made me very interested in this book. I’ll see if it’s available here in Japan… 🙂

    Like

    teagan geneviene said:
    July 14, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    Big hugs to you Jo, and to Kevin as well. Best of luck.

    Like

    Kev said:
    July 14, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    I can’t thank you enough, Jo for such an amazing review! 🙂

    Like

    Kev said:
    July 14, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Reblogged this on Kev's Blog and commented:
    A wonderful 5-Star Review of Miedo. Thanks Jo!

    Like

    roughseasinthemed said:
    July 14, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    Jo’s review was similar to my thoughts. The descriptive beautiful garden bits, and the starker parts, but overall, the child has strength. Totally mirrored how I viewed Miedo. Great review from Jo 🙂

    Like

    bookreviews1966 said:
    July 14, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    Thanks for the review, I am a huge fan of kev and have his book, been so busy I have not had the chance to read it, thanks for your review…Jackie 🙂

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 17, 2014 at 1:46 pm

      Pleasure! And thanks to you too. 🙂 It really will be worth the wait for you – hold on to your chair though – I thought it was brilliant. 🙂

      Like

    Cynthia Reyes said:
    July 14, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    Congrats, Kev. Way to go!

    Like

    theowllady said:
    July 14, 2014 at 11:44 pm

    Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

    Like

    Margaret Lynette Sharp said:
    July 15, 2014 at 5:14 am

    What a wonderful review! Congratulations to Kev!

    Like

Leave a Reply

