I Write Like……… Me

Posted on Updated on

I’m pretty sure that I’ve sent everyone’s books to them from the International Authors Day giveaway, but my WordPress site is still not showing me all my comments, so if I’ve missed anyone please drop me a note from the Contact Me tab above and I’ll send them right along.

I’ve written a good couple of new chunks of my WIPs this week in spite of some serious noise from a couple of guys tearing down a wall in the yard to rebuild. Now I’m catching up with emails, and spotted one of those links that you know you don’t have time to play with, but do anyway.

Because I also want to write like Stephen King, I headed off to I Write Like to be analysed. You just copy and paste a couple of paragraphs of your writing and it lets you know what famous writer’s style you have. You get a badge and all. So I copied a bit of Lesser Being and got given this badge:

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Fair enough – fair enough – he did write The Last of the Mohicans after all, but I still wanted to write like Stephen King, and dear James is really old-fashioned – and dead too, so I plonked a bit of African Me & Satellite TV in there instead, and got this badge:

I write like
Anne Rice

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Bugger…. I decided to see if Shadow People 1 would get me the Stephen King badge, but I actually got another Anne Rice, which at least shows a bit of conformity, and I did log off totally in between goes just in case. My final desperate attempt for a King badge got me:

I write like
Mary Shelley

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Baaah! I give up now – I guess I’m going to have to write a couple of vampire and undead books. Come to think of it – I do have a WIP lurking somewhere along those lines…..

Boo

55 thoughts on “I Write Like……… Me

    Jack Eason said:
    July 22, 2014 at 2:07 pm

    Never mind Jo. Far better that you have a style unique to you… 😉

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 22, 2014 at 2:47 pm

      You’re right Jack – I just really wanted a Stephen King badge. 😀 Joking apart though – I keep trying to finish his memoir and then keep getting sidetracked. I love that he’s written so many short stories because they’re my favourite things to write too. Such an interesting guy, but it seems being run over really changed his writing style a lot. 🙂

      Like

      siobhandaiko said:
      August 19, 2014 at 5:20 pm

      I got Tolkien when I played this game once, because the word ‘dragon’ appeared in my text I think 😉

      Like

    Jack Eason said:
    July 22, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    Reblogged this on Have We Had Help? and commented:
    More from Jo…

    Like

    M.C.Simon said:
    July 22, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    Great, Jo.
    I also tried three times and receiving different answers I decided!
    I am proud to write like me!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 22, 2014 at 2:48 pm

      What answers did you get? I’ve got a sneaking suspicion that that machine was trying to tell me that I’m outdated. 😀

      Like

        M.C.Simon said:
        July 22, 2014 at 3:02 pm

        It seems that my brain is writing in this order:
        – Dan Brown
        – H.P. Lovecraft
        – Mark Twain

        Now… I have to admit that I copied 3 different texts written by me… and yes, I wrote them in different styles.
        Anyway… your answer was the best! We write like us!

        Like

          christineplouvier said:
          July 23, 2014 at 1:55 am

          My blog posts all come up H.P. Lovecraft. I read one of his short stories when I was a teenager, and that was enough for me!

          Like

            jorobinson176 responded:
            July 23, 2014 at 8:48 am

            Ha haaa! These generators can be a little insulting sometimes. 😀 Seems like we’re all writing when we’re not looking.

            Like

            M.C.Simon said:
            July 23, 2014 at 11:36 am

            Well… Christine… to be sincere I didn’t read anything written by H.P. Lovecraft. But I have to admit that my ego was thrilled to be compared with Dan Brown and Mark Twain. :-)))))

            Like

          jorobinson176 responded:
          July 23, 2014 at 9:04 am

          I reckon that those three combined into one would equal rockstar writer! We’re gorgeously unique with our scribbles I reckon. 😀

          Like

    First Night Design said:
    July 22, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    Got to try it!

    Like

      First Night Design said:
      July 22, 2014 at 2:45 pm

      I got Anne Rice too for a couple of paragraphs of my memoir and not a vampire in sight. Never read her!

      Like

        jorobinson176 responded:
        July 22, 2014 at 2:51 pm

        LOLOL! She’s an interesting one though – I read Interview with a Vampire years ago and enjoyed it, but I didn’t really like the next one I read – The Vampire Lestat I think it was. She’s one of the few authors that seriously interacts with her fans on FB and so on, so kudos to her for that.

        Like

    P.S. Bartlett said:
    July 22, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    I like to think there is a little bit of all of the authors I’ve loved over the years in my writing.;) However, we are all unique and yes,our best writing is our own. (Gotta love that Anne Rice though!)

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 22, 2014 at 2:57 pm

      Thanks to you for sharing that cool blog post! I love the way you put that – all the authors you’ve loved in your writing – you’re right too! It’s funny – I used to love anything vampire when I was a little younger, and when I read Anne Rice’s first book it blew me away – vampires with feelings. I suppose she really is the reason vamps are so popular today too. The terrible thing is that now I have a pucker urge to write one too. 😀

      Like

    christineplouvier said:
    July 22, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Bad news, Jo: Based on the first half of Chapter 1 of “Irish Firebrands,” I write like Stephen King! (I’ve only read his memoir.)

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 9:02 am

      Jealous – jealous! 😀 I can’t wait to have some time to read it cover to cover – I pop in and out of it now and then though, and he had one seriously interesting life. Imagine your dad popping out for a packet of cigarettes and just never coming back. And having someone hit by a train in front of you probably would have some sort of impact on what you write.

      Like

    theowllady said:
    July 22, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

    Like

    Green Embers said:
    July 22, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    That’s a pretty cool website. I am sure it will say I write like a child! Ahahahaha.

    Still though, Mary Shelley and Anne Rice are pretty awesome (I could never get the hang of Cooper). In the end though it is as you started, you write like you! 🙂

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 8:59 am

      LOLOL! You write perfectly, and you kick ass with your art too. Now that you say that though – it would be fun if there was one of these things that tossed out insults. I reckon some people could get really offended if they were told that they Write Like a Tool. 😀 😀

      Like

        Green Embers said:
        July 23, 2014 at 11:31 am

        Oh my word, best idea ever! 😆

        Or, ‘I’ve read maths book that are more interesting.’

        😀

        Like

          jorobinson176 responded:
          July 23, 2014 at 12:24 pm

          LMAO! 😀 Actually – I got a review that almost said that. She was so righteously appalled that I just had to laugh. 😀

          Like

    christineplouvier said:
    July 22, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    The second half of Chapter 1 came up James Joyce. Forty years ago, I tried “A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man,” but I didn’t get very far before quitting. (Never tried any more Joyce.)

    Then I did Chapters 2, 3 and 4. Each time, it was for a different POV section. It was completely consistent: either King or Joyce.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 8:57 am

      Jealous. :/ Maybe it does work a bit after all – it did give me Anne Rice twice. Better bone up on vampire guys now. 😀

      Like

    Peter Wells aka Countingducks said:
    July 22, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Made me laugh did this. God knows who I write like, but I’m sure they would not enjoy the comparison !

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 8:54 am

      All these famous guys don’t know what they’re up against yet. 😀 They’ll want to Write Like You!

      Like

    ghostmmnc (barbara) said:
    July 22, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    I tried this, and it said I write like Dan Brown…hmmm ok. I’m pretty sure it would say something else with every sample I used. 😉 anyway it was fun to do!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 8:53 am

      Dan Brown’s a good one though – I quite liked The Da Vinci Code. You scored! 😀

      Like

    teagan geneviene said:
    July 22, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    LOL, i had much the same experience at “I Write Like” — it was kind of fun though. 🙂

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 8:52 am

      😀 I wonder what would happen if you copied and pasted something from The Shining – probably get You Write Like Anne Rice – LOLOLOL!

      Like

    ihidemychocolate said:
    July 23, 2014 at 12:40 am

    I’m glad you write like you! I never was a big fan of James Fenimore Cooper anyway!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 8:50 am

      Thank you Sally! I admit I had to google him, and I watched The Last of the Mohicans on TV – it’s way too hard on the eyeballs reading some of the classics these days. 🙂 X

      Like

    Cynthia Reyes said:
    July 23, 2014 at 2:29 am

    A fun blog. One day, it’ll say you write like: Jo Robinson!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 8:46 am

      Now there would be a thing! 😀 I’ll have to stop bouncing around so much first. 🙂

      Like

    belsbror said:
    July 23, 2014 at 9:46 am

    You are in good company. 🙂
    I had to try it myself before commenting. I had no luck yesterday because of slow connection.
    My first try resulted to David Forster Wallace while the next led to Daniel Defoe. Both were journalists so I think I should have been a journalist, too. LOL. It was quite a fun experiment. 😀

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 12:41 pm

      Those are great, and consistent too! Journalists very often write great fiction. 😀

      Like

        belsbror said:
        July 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

        I bookmarked the site, I want to write like Stephen King, too. (laughs)
        I did contemplate of being one once. I guess I was not cut out to be the great crusader I wished to be. 😀

        Like

    Margaret Lynette Sharp said:
    July 23, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    I wouldn’t be complaining 🙂 Some awesome names there… 🙂

    Like

    Kev said:
    July 23, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    I don’t want to copy anyone. Sure, I’m influenced by great authors… aren’t we all. But to write like them… why? We already have them. Jo, I love the way you write. I would not change one word or sentence in African Me… I’m glad you write, like you. As for me, I write like me and I don’t want to change that… it’s who I am.

    Like

    sheketechad said:
    July 26, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Oh boy, a new link to try out 🙂 As long as it doesn’t say I write like Chinese Fortune Cookies, I’ll be happy (I think).

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 29, 2014 at 7:15 am

      Chinese Fortune Cookies – LOLOL! You will meet a tall dark stranger….. 😀

      Like

        sheketechad said:
        July 29, 2014 at 11:59 am

        …who can accept you spend hours locked away writing…

        Hmmm. Maybe that’s not such a bad thing after all 🙂

        Like

    WeaverGrace said:
    July 27, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    Another fun resource, Jo! 🙂 I put in my Bipolar Snowballs blog post, and got David Foster Wallace. Never heard of him or his work. I looked him up at my local library’s website, and found that they describe him as “a quality of thought that is uniquely his and a voice as powerful and distinct as any in American letters.” OK. Then I found that his home was in one of my very favorite cities! And he’s close to my age. So, I’m off to see what the web published says about him.

    Thanks for distracting me from my ToDo list 😉

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 29, 2014 at 9:59 am

      That’s the best one yet! It’s you to a T. 🙂 X

      Like

    Sherri said:
    July 28, 2014 at 11:47 am

    This sounds so much fun, will have to give a try although I’m a bit scared, LOL! You have your own delightful style Jo, nobody else’s and we already have Stephen King. Now we need Jo Robinson…that’s you my lovely, dear friend 😀 ❤ 🙂 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 29, 2014 at 6:42 am

      What did you get then? 😀 Sherri Matthews Original Coolness! ❤ XXXXXXXXXX LOVES

      Like

    Bette A. Stevens said:
    August 17, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Hi, Jo. I got J.K. Rowling for a few chapters from my upcoming debut novel DOG BONE SOUP. Then, I submitted a short story memoir I’ve written to submit for the RRBC Anthology and got Mark Twain. This was fun. THANKS! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      August 18, 2014 at 1:32 pm

      Those two are great comparisons Bette – love them both. It’s interesting though, and quite a clever machine, because you write for both adults and children, so I reckon it works a bit. HUGS! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

