Warrior

Posted on Updated on

Warrior

In those old times of war and blight
Faces turned from crimes of day and night
Chose not to see our world die behind lie on lie.
When those fiery riders came that final time, to forever shield the light
Falling scales of apathy, too late forced truth to every shuttered eye.
It was too late to rebel. Too late to fight.

She rose from the ashes after those fire years. That warrior lord
When the Earth could take no more.
She allowed no further crime to wound the face of God.
She called her hidden armies, so ridiculed before.
They came from their secret places, and their places of helpless war
To protect the weak and the voiceless with swords that cut and burned. Words no more.

Now we see those wrongs that we unthinking wrought
Those unseen evils of greed, and stolen beauty bought.
Shame-filled tears too late for those gone before
Too late for this Earth shrouded in endless night.
The warrior lord watches. It is our world no more
Now is time for rebirth. Of the innocent and the wild.
The moment of man is done now. Too little, too late, emblazons our shrine,
And the warrior’s sword falls only for the souls of light.

29 thoughts on “Warrior

    belsbror said:
    July 23, 2014 at 9:19 am

    When are we going to learn? We are leading ourselves to our doom.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 9:32 am

      I don’t think we have much time left to learn if what we see on the news these days is anything to go by. I reckon it’s now or never.

      Like

        belsbror said:
        July 23, 2014 at 9:52 am

        You’re quite correct. It would seem our leaders are playing a very dangerous game of Russian roulette.

        Like

          jorobinson176 responded:
          July 23, 2014 at 12:39 pm

          Dangerous and frightening. In fact these days I’m looking at a couple of conspiracy theories with less laughter than I would expect.

          Like

            belsbror said:
            July 23, 2014 at 1:19 pm

            It’s the dollar demise that I am most worried about. With financial chaos worldwide, even peaceful nations will have terrible problems with their economies.

            Like

    Jack Eason said:
    July 23, 2014 at 9:36 am

    Love it Jo. 🙂

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 9:39 am

      Thanks Jack! It’s my very first attempt at writing anything apart from stories, so I was a bit nervous of posting it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        Jack Eason said:
        July 23, 2014 at 9:42 am

        Please keep at it. 🙂

        Like

          jorobinson176 responded:
          July 23, 2014 at 9:45 am

          I will 😀 Hopefully the pros out there will help me along with some tips. 🙂

          Like

    Jack Eason said:
    July 23, 2014 at 9:37 am

    Reblogged this on Have We Had Help? and commented:
    A timeless poem…

    Like

    Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. said:
    July 23, 2014 at 9:57 am

    Great poem Jo – we have been on the edge before and always manage to bring ourselves back from the brink – perhaps it is time for the silent majority – billions of them- to stand up to the physical minority who are causing all the problems. XX

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 12:38 pm

      Thanks Sally! I wasn’t sure if I could officially call it a poem, because I’m sure there’s rules and I don’t know any of them. 😀 You’re totally right though – It’s always struck me as odd that so few get to decide the fates of so many. I suppose it takes serious personal injury before most people will step off the comfortable path. It’s really a shame. HUGS ❤ XX

      Like

    Ali Isaac said:
    July 23, 2014 at 10:46 am

    Beautifully put, Jo! Strange, I only just posted a poem myself this morning, and have been thinking of getting back into writing poetry, but it has been such a long time… I shall watch your journey along this new path with interest, and wish you good luck!

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 12:34 pm

      Thanks Ali! Your Winter Trees is beautiful. I often find it funny when on some days the blogging world seems to all be on the same page – like some sort of scribblers collective unconscious. I love your Indi dog too – almost a bigger twin of my Bella. I’m going to have to learn this poetry thing properly now – it’s actually a lot harder than just writing a book. 🙂

      Like

    Charles Yallowitz said:
    July 23, 2014 at 10:54 am

    At first I was thinking of Valkyries, but that changed by the end. As reading the comments, I have to agree. Though I really wish humanity reached its twilight years after I (and a few generations of my descendants) were gone. Rather depressing to see our species get taken down by ignorance and stupidity.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 23, 2014 at 12:29 pm

      It really is. It’s funny how obvious the danger is with all the craziness everywhere, and all of us can see it except the politicians. Hopefully the buggers will try and do better before we all end up like gnats on windshields.

      Like

        Charles Yallowitz said:
        July 23, 2014 at 12:58 pm

        I’m sure they can see it. The problem is that they aren’t willing to sacrifice and make hard choices to fix things. For most of them, it’s about getting another term instead of making the current one count.

        Like

    Cynthia Reyes said:
    July 23, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    Beautiful in a scary way, Jo.
    Truth is the first casualty of war, it’s said, and we so need the truth right now. There are such powerful forces vested in only allowing one version of ‘truth’.

    Like

    theowllady said:
    July 24, 2014 at 12:43 am

    Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

    Like

    Kev said:
    July 24, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    Wonderful!

    Like

    mihrank said:
    July 25, 2014 at 6:59 am

    Reblogged this on mihran Kalaydjian and commented:
    Warrior

    Like

    Sherri said:
    July 28, 2014 at 11:43 am

    Wow Jo, this is a haunting, beautiful and powerful poem and did you draw the picture too? Very impressive, very moving, I love it. Even more so as it expresses what so many are feeling in this world of ours. i wonder if we have ever been on a more precarious edge as we are now? Much love to you my friend…and huge hugs ❤ xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ❤

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 29, 2014 at 6:45 am

      Thank you Sherri! This pic is one of my quickie doodles that I’m hoping to turn into a proper painting when I ever find some time. I think I’d better make some time now and finally work out my camera and tablet – really keen on learning digital now. And thank you my wonderful Sherri for calling it a poem! I wasn’t sure. LOVES and HUGS ❤ XXXXXXXXXXX 🙂

      Like

        Sherri said:
        August 10, 2014 at 3:09 pm

        Definitely a poem, to me dear Jo 😀 You are a talented artist too my friend, you must turn it into a painting. My daughter uses her tablet all the time. I think it will take you to great places with your art! Love and hugs to you and hoping you are having a great weekend 😀 ❤ xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ❤ 😀

        Like

    Deck builders vancouver said:
    July 31, 2014 at 6:14 am

    Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and
    let you know a few of the images aren’t loading
    properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      August 3, 2014 at 5:54 am

      Hi there, and thanks! What happened was that a little while ago I deleted all the images in my media library. REALLY clever, I know, but I never realised that they would all end up as broken links on all my old posts. I’m trying to go back and fix them all as quickly as I can. I’m really sorry for the missing images – most of the posts really need them too.

      Like

    mihrank said:
    August 3, 2014 at 4:59 am

    Jo – This is pure elite blog!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

