AUTHORS Don’t be TWITS when TWEETING and making Online ‘Friends’!

Posted on

OYYY!! BUY MY….. Oh… Um…. How not to win friends and influence readers. 😀

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

As someone who makes online contact with authors on a daily basis, there are a few things that actually IRK me (not a pretty sight), so please excuse me while I arrange this soapbox more comfortably and elaborate further.

These irk-making issues are not unique to me and have been expressed by many people – including many non-irk making authors – so unless you want to LOSE potential readers, fans and friends, you need to STOP doing the following IMMEDIATELY on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Google+, Goodreads, Shefari, Librarything, et al:

Making your first contact with the immortal words:

Get my books at ***************

LIKE my FB Page at ***************

Follow my Website / blog at ***************

And similar well meant (?), but self-centred sayings!!!!!

Think about it for a few moments – WHY did this person start Following / Liking / Send you a Friend / Connection Request?

Is it…

View original post 513 more words

4 thoughts on “AUTHORS Don’t be TWITS when TWEETING and making Online ‘Friends’!

    Margaret Lynette Sharp said:
    August 3, 2014 at 1:03 am

    It is so commonly done. Just before I visited here, I saw an email to me asking me to ‘Like’ a Facebook page…Someone who had never contacted me before. Do you think I did?

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      August 3, 2014 at 5:50 am

      Definitely not! 😀 Some of the things people try are totally ridiculous even if they are funny sometimes. 🙂

      Like

    teagan geneviene said:
    August 3, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    It makes one wonder if their irk-able approach actually generates any sales. 🙂

    Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      August 3, 2014 at 12:45 pm

      When I was still new online I caved a couple of times and bought books I’ll never read, so maybe they do get some sales that way, but I reckon that anything that looks like desperation is going to make you wonder why they’re desperate. Hard selling generally means that it’s hard to sell. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

