Sugars – here, there and everywhere in our modern diet

Posted on

Sugar is my nemesis, but thanks to Sally’s advice some months ago, I now have pretty much cut it out of my diet – apart from honey – hmmmm – honey…..

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

I am a sugar addict………..along with millions of people around the world, most of whom have struggled with their weight and their health all their lives. Sugar is everywhere – there is no getting away from it. Not just sweets and chocolate, cakes, muffins, bread and cereals but hidden in pasta sauces and most of our savoury favourites. In every shop and in our own kitchen cupboards and fridge – always within reach and as enticing as anything in our lives. Sugar addiction is recognised as a real and extremely harmful craving mentally and physically.

Before I recognised that sugar addiction was part of the problem with my obesity I would move heaven and earth for a fix. It might seem amusing looking back but I can tell you that Halloween was my favourite time of year. I could legitimately go into stores and come out with bags of chocolates…

View original post 1,040 more words

4 thoughts on “Sugars – here, there and everywhere in our modern diet

    The Story Reading Ape said:
    February 21, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    But Jo – YOU are ALREADY a Honey 😀 😀 😀 xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 1:31 pm

      LOL – you are a SWEETIE PIE! All I can think of now is sweets…. sucks thumb…. doesn’t taste like honey… off to get some in a bottle….. 😀 😀 😀 XXXXXX

      Liked by 1 person

    WeaverGrace said:
    February 22, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    Because I have always wanted to eat the healthiest foods, I deliberately avoided white sugar for much of my life. In 2014, I am happy to report that I probably consumed less than a total of 1/8 cup. I consumed sugar in other forms, though, especially fresh and dried fruit (high in fiber).

    When I wasn’t avoiding sugar, I was using it to drug myself. I never got sugar highs; sugar put me to sleep when I was overly enthusiastic. An entire package of candy or baked goods did the trick in one sitting.

    This year, I’m getting most of my sugar from dates, blueberries and carrots. I am finding it easier than ever to pass by the showcases of baked goods. When I get a sugar craving at home, I have to satisfy it with healthy sweets, and recognize that it means that I’m tired. Cocoa nibs with nut butter are fun when I really want some chocolate, and I never crave them.

    Perhaps the most effective motivator for me was to read all of the labels for several months, and remember that one teaspoon of sugar is 4 grams. That means that when fake fruit juice states 35 grams of sugar per serving, and I drank a couple servings or more at a sitting…

    Like

Leave a Reply

