Should You Give Up Writing?

Posted on

Lit World Interviews

I’ve always found the different ways that we scribblers describe our experiences with writer’s block very interesting. Also the different ways the seasoned writers suggest getting over it. Some suggestions are to work around your block, or force yourself to write through it, even if what you write is rubbish. Other advice is to write something completely different. We won’t mention those rather hurtful cries of, “Stop being such a wussy. Adorn yourself in adult underwear! Plumbers don’t get plumbers block!” All of these things can work with a bit of effort and confidence, but one bit of advice that you seldom see is to take a break from writing completely. As if a week away from writing anything will totally strip you of the ability to write at all. It is true that if you don’t do something for a good long while, you could get a little rusty…

View original post 484 more words

12 thoughts on “Should You Give Up Writing?

    Sue Vincent said:
    July 23, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    Great article, Jo. I started writing when my late husband was very ill… and stopped when he died. For years. Confidence shot, inspiration lacking… and no-one around who believed or encouraged. I took the book out and dusted it down years later… finishing my first novel and eventually getting it out there. Not as good as it could have been, nowhere near as rounded as I would have liked… but I could have sat on it or polished forever… Sometimes you have to just do it… and see what comes next.

    Liked by 3 people

      jorobinson176 responded:
      July 28, 2015 at 12:59 pm

      Thank you Sue! Your story is really inspiring – in fact, reading your blog posts always inspire me too, so it would have been a real shame if you didn’t get to share your words with the world. ….Sometimes you have to just do it, and see what comes next….. Love that.

      Like

        Sue Vincent said:
        July 28, 2015 at 1:02 pm

        I think you do. I keep thinking I should go back and do stuff to that first book… maybe one day I will, though I will probably do no more than redo the cover… now I have more of an idea about such things.. and a thorough edit. The tale was of its time and time, and I , have moved forward. Perhaps it should stand as it is🙂

        Liked by 1 person

          jorobinson176 responded:
          July 28, 2015 at 1:07 pm

          I like to see how authors change as I read their books – if you start from the first ones you can see them grow. I also keep thinking of changes to my first one, but I reckon my writing has changed so I just leave it. It’s good to change covers though – my first two were revolting – gives the book a whole new lease on life. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

            Sue Vincent said:
            July 28, 2015 at 1:45 pm

            The whole process of that first self-pub is just so exciting… ad you are so proud and so damned nervous that you don’t see clearly … and you haven’t learned enough:) All part of the learning curve🙂 So yes, new covers are a must for some of mine🙂 I have them ready… just need time to re-proof the lot before getting them up and out again🙂

            Liked by 1 person

              jorobinson176 responded:
              July 28, 2015 at 2:23 pm

              Ha – that brings back fun memories – zooming around and thinking it’s the most perfect creation and flourishing it around everywhere, and then blushing along the curve. Those firsts are really such joys. It will be lovely to see your new covers – almost as exciting as a brand new release I think. 🙂

              Like

                Sue Vincent said:
                July 28, 2015 at 2:24 pm

                Honestly, I blush at those early efforts…! Just as soon as I can squeeze a few more hours out of the days, I’ll get them out there🙂

                Like

    Colline said:
    July 23, 2015 at 6:23 pm

    An inspiring share Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

    mihrank said:
    July 26, 2015 at 5:58 am

    such wonderful blog and presentation with excellence – I finally have my Radio Internet Live –

    Please visit the link below:

    http://www.theradioelement.com/

    If you are interested to participate or share anything please let me know…

    Thanks;

    Mino

    Liked by 1 person

    dgkaye said:
    July 28, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    Great post Jo. As long as we keep writing, we keep learning.🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

