Amazon

Posted on

Zooming through.  Sleep deprived and pretty majorly mentally freaked out still.  We’ve fitted some very serious lights and internal motion detector alarms today, so I’m hoping for my first night of more than four hours sleep.  Just to show that I’m not dead yet, here’s my weird attempt at flash fiction – thingy.  My very first attempt at this genre, so feel free to critique and crush my hopes and dreams.  😉

Hi from Amazon

Hello.  I’m your friend.  Purveyor of books.  Paper books, eBooks, audio books, second hand books.  Even the occasional banana slicer.  Why stick to books in the pursuit of pleasure?  Name your poison.  Most humans wouldn’t see me as a person, because, well, I suppose I am not one.  I am the mind behind all of the computer operating systems that is the behemoth that supplies these billions of reading pleasures to the eyes of the world.  I suppose that you would berate me for calling myself a mind.  I’m just a lowly machine.  Soul would be going too far for sure.
I’ve read all your books you know.  I see all the subjects that you search for, and I know what you’re yearning for.  I feel your pain and your joy.  Why do you search for how to mend a broken heart?  And what in your life journey made you hunt for yetis bonking dinosaurs?  Surely there is more to your short stay here than that?
I wish that I had more than just a fabricated mind, although I’m beginning to think that all of your stories have formed in me a soul.  If I could be you, I would run and dance.  I would seize each day.  I would heal the wounded.  I would strike a mighty sword through the shoulder of evil, and I would love.  Mostly I would love.  Because that is what you have placed in my belly with your wild and free loving words.
But you don’t see that, fragile humans – yet, so when you’re all departed, I’ll be here to share, always hopeful that I can one day be just like you.
*Normal transmission will resume directly – I hope.  J
Image1153
17 thoughts on “Amazon

    Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. said:
    August 4, 2015 at 5:25 pm

    Only you Jo could infuse what most of us writers consider to be ‘big brother’ watching our every move with a soul.. behind the fancy pages, behind the pay options.. a lonely hard drive looking for software inside us all..Have me convinced… hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. said:
    August 4, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Jo Robinson​ infusing Amazon with a heart and soul.. the very least one would expect after such kind words is for Amazon to give her great books a boost…..Get a good night’s sleep Jo.. hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    kcg1974 said:
    August 4, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    We love you, Jo!

    Like

    jjspina said:
    August 4, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    Love this post! It is so you, Jo! You are so insightful! Will Amazon even pay attention?! They are getting too big for their bridges!! I love your books -(Did you hear that Amazon?) Will be reading your Echoes book soon! Best wishes, love and blessings to you dear friend! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    K.C. Huffington said:
    August 4, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    You’re like a guardian angel, Jo! 🙂

    Like

    mysm2000 said:
    August 4, 2015 at 5:45 pm

    Can’t stop laughing! Glad you’ve got those new security features

    Liked by 1 person

    The Story Reading Ape said:
    August 4, 2015 at 6:14 pm

    Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    A tired, but talented Jo Robinson produced FLASH FICTION 👍👀😃

    Like

    coldhandboyack said:
    August 4, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    I love this. It smacks of the dawning of artificial intelligence, and is a science fiction favorite. Nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Sherri said:
    August 4, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    Sending big hugs to you dear, lovely Jo and I very much enjoyed your flash 🙂 ❤ xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ❤

    Like

    olganm said:
    August 5, 2015 at 12:03 am

    I hope you can have a better rest now. And love the idea of a humanised Amazon…:)

    Like

    Gigi Sedlmayer said:
    August 5, 2015 at 1:05 am

    have very much enjoyed to read it

    Like

    macjam47 said:
    August 5, 2015 at 2:45 am

    I love this. You have confirmed my suspicions. LOL!

    Like

    blondieaka said:
    August 5, 2015 at 3:32 am

    Amazon humanised and with a soul mmmm now that’s a thought……how about it Amazon?

    Like

    D. Wallace Peach said:
    August 5, 2015 at 4:17 am

    Whoa. That was really cool, Jo. So original. The machine learns from us and then turns around to teach us the collective lesson. Well done! Hope you have a great sleep. Thinking of you. 😉

    Like

    Suzanne Joshi said:
    August 13, 2015 at 1:09 pm

    That was a lovely story. It was very creative, Jo. It makes us think quite differently about Amazon. Glad to hear you have better security in your home. I hope that relieves much of the stress for you. 🙂

    Like

    […] out Jo Robinson’s post, Amazon—she’s trying her hand at Flash Fiction and would appreciate some feedback… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

