Can You Call Yourself Stephen King?

Posted on

Lit World Interviews

Apparently. But should you? There’s an author who publishes on Amazon called Stephen King. He isn’t the Stephen King who we know and love though. The four short books of his that I noticed all have two and a half, or two star average ratings overall. One of them has over two hundred reviews. All four of them are being lambasted, but all of their rankings are high, so they’re consistently selling well and have been for quite some time. This writer is obviously quite happy to take the flack while making money.

Many of the outraged reviews sharing that this isn’t the “real” Stephen King would make you wonder why people would keep on buying it. I nearly bought it though. Certain authors like King and Terry Pratchett I always just grab when I see one that I don’t have in my collection. It was only because the cover…

View original post 363 more words

6 thoughts on “Can You Call Yourself Stephen King?

    janetweightreed10 said:
    August 6, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    If someone copies a painting, or does something very like a well known original…..it is important to put ‘after’ whoever the well known painter is, as part of the signature.
    I think if this chap is really Stephen King, he should say something, even if a little tongue in cheek indicating that – he’s not the famous one:)

    Liked by 1 person

    melanietoye said:
    August 6, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    I recently went looking up Stephen King’s early years of flash fiction and yes discovered the low star reviews. Like many, I nearly just bought it, as soon as I saw his name. With the low star reviews, I read the comments and they said it wasn’t the real SK. However, I have had someone use my own name on their Twitter profile and not just my name but my Twitter profile text, who claimed they even wrote my book, Entice Me. However they used their own photo!

    Like

    sonmi upon the Cloud said:
    August 6, 2015 at 2:25 pm

    It’s bare faced cheek for sure. If I were the well known Stephen King, I’d have a word and insist the new chap add an initial in the middle or something. Ultimately it is up to the readers to realise as you say, and those who have bought copies, thinking they have something rare and magical from the master, are unlikely to return. By then though they’ll have shelled out their coppers, and the ‘new’ Stephen King is laughing all the way to the bank…(with his penny jar full, rather than pound coin/dollar jar).

    Says ‘sonmi’…..ahem…..*laughs*. the name I shall be publishing a book under shall not have anything to do with Cloud Atlas. Honest guv.

    – sonmi upon the Cloud

    Like

    teagan geneviene said:
    August 6, 2015 at 2:29 pm

    Great post Jo. This is not something I’ve thought about… but you raise really good points. There are so many names out there that are shared by multiple people. It seems like Amazon could employ unique “user names” the way other online accounts are done. I guess they didn’t think very far ahead… Hugs!

    Like

    Chris White said:
    August 6, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    That’s interesting. It could be useful and I would hope a discerning reader wouldn’t get or feel misled. In Britain there is an author called Kate Mosse who is often confused with Kate Moss, the model.
    All the best. William Shakespeare.

    Like

    Colline said:
    August 6, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    I think he is counting on the fact that people buy books of their favoured author. Seems a bit unethical to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

