This Eleventh Day.

Posted on

The BUTHIDARS

On this eleventh day of the eleventh month I’ve seen many blogs talking of the poppies and of the fallen during all the wars from WWI onwards.
The red poppy is a poignant symbol of the men and women who have fallen in the cause of freedom chosen because the Flanders fields were covered with poppies in the First World War.
In later times the white poppy became significant to some. Not because they didn’t respect nor dis-remember those who gave their lives to a cause, a country but because they also wanted to get people thinking about stopping wars like these again, about having peace.

My grandfathers both served in WWI, my parents both served in WWII. I have served in the RAF as did my brother while my sister served in the Army. We would all have fought had we been asked to. My nephew was serving in…

View original post 678 more words

3 thoughts on “This Eleventh Day.

    davidprosser said:
    November 11, 2015 at 4:18 pm

    Thank you so much Jo for the honour you do me with re-blogging this. It’s little wonder I so love the friends I’ve made when they’re as special as you.
    xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 11, 2015 at 4:25 pm

      You’re the sweetest sweet soul in all the universes David – HUGS HUGS HUGS! XXXX and MWAH!!!❤ XXXXX

      Liked by 1 person

    patriciaruthsusan said:
    November 12, 2015 at 9:21 am

    Thanks, Jo, for sharing this lovely piece. I agree that David deserves Huge Hugs.🙂 — Suzanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

