Back to Blogging

Posted on

This past week has been kind of life-changing. What happened in Paris has obviously changed the whole world, just as 9-11 did. Can’t just ignore it and go back to zooming around the bloggerverse. I just hope that we don’t look back at this time as the beginning of some rather bigger ending. I also hope that these insane murderous cowards get stopped in their rotten tracks once and for all, and that peace and love returns to the hearts of those so hurt in France and everywhere else too. My heart hurts for all humanity that any of us are even able to consider, let alone perpetrate such evil. Shameful, shameful.
After the initial shock, sadness set in. Sadness and disappointment. I’m not generally pro-violence, but sometimes maybe evil really does need to be violently excised. That kind of evil doesn’t deserve to live in my book. How to go back to life in the land of happy blogging with this huge worldwide pain? I have no idea. We’ll get there eventually, but we can’t pretend this didn’t happen. Life is precious, and obviously there is no guarantee of it continuing tomorrow, so I reckon that a bit of reflection and gratitude is in order now and then. Nobody will benefit from constant sadness though. Life must be lived, and has to be appreciated with joy, and the knowledge of how we should be treating our fellow man should encourage us to behave in the ways that we know we should. No matter how big the world and how many people sail on her, each and every individual act of kindness and caring counts. Best not to forget that this life, every individual life, is actually important after all, so while we do zoom around doing arbitrary daily things, we should occasionally remember that we’re probably here to learn something. I don’t think that our mission on Earth is to destroy each other, and I can’t understand the mind that would embrace such a concept.  So – I’ve learned that evil is real and will find its way out under some cover or another.  Evil shows us what we don’t want to be – what we don’t want in our world. I can’t imagine any God who would want this. Hopefully there’s time to stop it before it makes the whole world a very bad, bleak place.
The weather here has been insane. We’re having a drought which has now become painfully soggy. After months of intense dry heat the heavens finally opened, but not in a good way. There’s been flooding and some really terrible hail. Seems kind of obvious that Mother Nature is not a happy bunny at all. I haven’t been online much, apart from trying to practice doing that very thing on my phone – much safer with the amount of lighting we had. Such strange storms too. All hell breaks loose for about twenty minutes with fireworks and much deluge, then twenty minutes of full on sunshine, then more of the deluging and so on and again. Not cool and late-making in general. Still, the mud is welcome and the perking up trees too. More rain on the way for the next couple of days, which while cool, will hopefully be without any hailstones and smiting lightning.

Daisy W

26 thoughts on “Back to Blogging

    Sarina said:
    November 19, 2015 at 9:41 am

    I’ve been thinking of writing up my own post on the matter of the news of late, but I really have no idea what to say. I generally don’t speak on politics but what I’ve seen those who have spoken on the topic there are some really heated debates going round.

    I love what you say “Life must be lived, and has to be appreciated with joy, and the knowledge of how we should be treating our fellow man …….. No matter how big the world and how many people sail on her, each and every individual act of kindness and caring counts”

    Liked by 2 people

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 19, 2015 at 2:42 pm

      Thank you Sarina. 🙂 I also generally don’t post political things and wasn’t actually going to say anything about this here, but then I thought that political correctness doesn’t come into this one. This affects all of us all around the world – all of our freedom and the future safety of all those to come is at stake, and I reckon that those of us online should probably say what we feel – even if it’s only a few paragraphs. We’re going to be sad for a long time, but this is such a defining and evil act – those “people” who did this don’t deserve our silence I reckon.

      Liked by 1 person

    Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. said:
    November 19, 2015 at 10:02 am

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Jo with a heartfelt reflection on the week’s events and even South Africa is experiencing topsy turvy weather.

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 19, 2015 at 2:44 pm

      Thanks for sharing my lovely Sally. ❤ The weather really is topsy turvy – everywhere you're seeing "the worst/biggest/baddest storm/drought/flooding ever. Not keen on seeing where it ends up in a couple of years. El Nino is normally nuts, but they reckon now with so much more liquid water & different temps this year, just about anything's possible weather wise.

      Like

    Annika Perry said:
    November 19, 2015 at 10:07 am

    It has been as eerily quiet in WP as across the world; as if its core centre is as shaken as our souls. But we continue as normal and good to see you back blogging. 😀Lovely flower by the way – it looks like an Aster? I’m not too good though with real flower names, preferring to make up my own!

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 19, 2015 at 2:47 pm

      I think you’re right Annika – we are all that badly shaken to our souls. You think you’ve seen the worst that people can do and then you get to be mistaken about that. I love these little guys in the garden but I’m not actually sure of their biological name – should look it up🙂 I just think of them as little daisies – could be that daisies are actually Asters though. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        Annika Perry said:
        November 19, 2015 at 3:03 pm

        There is a real darkness in the world at the moment I feel. Deeply unsettling and truly frightening. I looked at the flowers and think it is an aster as saw this on wikipedia. What do you think? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aster_%28genus%29

        Liked by 1 person

          jorobinson176 responded:
          November 19, 2015 at 3:29 pm

          I think you’re right about it being an Aster. I didn’t get this plant from the nursery – just a grabbed it from the supermarket and it didn’t have any name tag. I love these simple humble happy flowers much more than the pricey exotics. There is a darkness lately – I totally agree. If you look around these days there is so much more information about the truly bad people out there. Not doing deeds to this scale – just spreading hurt and darkness where they can. In the end though – good has to prevail.

          Liked by 1 person

    Marje @ Kyrosmagica said:
    November 19, 2015 at 10:17 am

    Jo your words echo my thoughts and feelings so much. Friday the 13th was the strangest of days for me, I had such a cheerful day spent with friends, in the afternoon the blinding sun was so perfect in its brilliance that I photographed it but this sense of warmth and positivity soon gave way to horror. and sadness at the loss of life of so many innocent people just trying to enjoy life to the full. I can’t comprehend the type of individual who wishes to carry out such wicked acts of violence, it is beyond me.

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 19, 2015 at 3:00 pm

      True Marje. Friday was actually quite a happy day for me too – and then this. People who do this sort of thing can never be excused. I used to think that if that’s what you’re brought up to believe then maybe you don’t have a choice, but we all make choices as adults on the basis of what we see. That’s why I think that they must simply be evil – black souls or no souls.

      Liked by 1 person

    Back to Blogging | oshriradhekrishnabole said:
    November 19, 2015 at 10:45 am

    […] Source: Back to Blogging […]

    Liked by 1 person

    Charles Yallowitz said:
    November 19, 2015 at 2:26 pm

    Good question about how to go back to blogging or life in general. The thing is that we really have to because to do otherwise is giving the terrorists a win. It’ll be different, but their goal is to cause disruption and fear. Hence the word ‘terror’ is in the name. Best to calmly discuss what happened and keep a rational mind while continuing to do what we do. At least that’s how I look at it.

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 19, 2015 at 3:12 pm

      You’re right Charles. I just don’t get how they can be proud of themselves for sneaking in and mowing down soft innocents without them ever having a chance to defend themselves. That’s so cowardly and disgusting. It’s clear though that talking isn’t going to win the day – they simply want everyone who isn’t them dead.

      Like

        Charles Yallowitz said:
        November 19, 2015 at 5:21 pm

        Sadly, they see the body count as a tool instead of the means. So the fact that those people are innocent doesn’t fall into their mindset. Just looking like it’s going to get worse before it gets better.

        Like

    vanbytheriver said:
    November 19, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    Life does go on. Our voice won’t be silent for long. I submitted my first entry today after a personal break of 2 weeks. Oddly enough, I chose words from 1940 that still resonate today. Nice post, Jo. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 19, 2015 at 3:14 pm

      Thank you Van. 🙂 I was just back from a break last Friday, but this week has been such a sad one I couldn’t think of anything to say. It’s good that we aren’t silenced by this – I shall zoom over and read your post too. We humans really have to stop doing these things to each other.

      Liked by 1 person

        vanbytheriver said:
        November 19, 2015 at 3:19 pm

        You’re so right, Jo. I sat in stunned silence like so many others. Life will go on. That’s what we will take from all this.

        Liked by 1 person

          jorobinson176 responded:
          November 19, 2015 at 3:32 pm

          Life must go on, and it must move away from this terrible stuff. These major events are really odd I find. The day of 9-11 I was in Zimbabwe. I never, ever tuned the TV to any sort of news station just as background noise back then – always was food channels. But not only did I tune to Sky News that day, I was also looking right at the screen as it started to unfold. It’s like we’re all connected in some way, and when something big and horrible happens we all feel it.

          Liked by 1 person

            vanbytheriver said:
            November 19, 2015 at 4:01 pm

            Connected, for sure. We are all one. We feel the pain, and share the hope. Have a great day, Jo.

            Like

    marianallen said:
    November 19, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    Hugs across the miles, Jo, dear! And do keep dodging that lightning and keep running between the hailstones. Hope things calm down in all ways.❤

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 19, 2015 at 3:33 pm

      HUGS my lovely friend! Thank you! Actually – I hope so too – seems like I’ve been dodging hailstones of some kind or another for way too long. All for the good I hope. ❤ XXXXX

      Like

    kimwrtr said:
    November 19, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    Reblogged this on Kim's Author Support Blog.

    Like

    Sue Dreamwalker said:
    November 19, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    Yes Jo, I think the whole world is still reeling from the shock.. I agree with your thoughts when you said ” No matter how big the world and how many people sail on her, each and every individual act of kindness and caring counts.”.. and that I feel is beginning to show.. Despite all of the grief I was heartened to listen to a man’s open letter to the terrorists of the Killings in Paris.. It was from a man who had lost his young wife on that fateful day… He said he would not give them the satisfaction of his hatred although he would give them his grief..
    I have not seen this open letter myself.. But the words were on a BBC programme last evening.. So I am sure it is one the web..

    Also what is not on the news and I read is that a security guard who stopped the bomber getting into the stadium was a Muslim.. His heroic act was almost dismissed as they didn’t even publish his full last name upon one report.. He saved many lives in the football stadium..

    I think Mother Nature is acting like a mirror.. for we are all of us very volatile right now..

    We have snow forecast for the weekend.. then mild again next week.. Yes our weather is wild at the moment as we have also had two strong storms. Abigail and Barney.

    Sending loving and Peaceful thoughts your way Jo.. and I hope your own weather calms down soon..

    Hugs Sue❤

    Like

    noelleg44 said:
    November 21, 2015 at 1:39 am

    I spent a day or two, Jo, thinking dark thoughts and wondering what to do. I came to the conclusion that if I allowed these miserable excuses for human beings to change the way I live my life, then they HAVE won. We just keep going and hope that our collective leaders figure out a way to deal with them. Unfortunately, giving them respect and dignity and loving them (Madonna’s suggestion) is not going to do it. ISIS is determined to eliminate western civilization. So yes, I think we’re going to have to use violent means to excise them from the human race.

    Like

    The Porcelain Doll said:
    November 21, 2015 at 11:02 pm

    Reblogged this on perfectlyfadeddelusions.

    Like

    dgkaye said:
    November 22, 2015 at 3:27 am

    A beautiful post Jo. Many of us are all feeling the same way, although some of us, like me, choose not to write.🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

