Rotten Reviews and Terrible Trolls

Posted on

Lit World Interviews

You will get bad reviews. It’s inevitable, I promise you. Take comfort in the fact that it’s a rite of passage all writers go through. Every – single – one of them, and after the first one has you on the floor, bawling your eyes out, and inexplicably trying to chew your own foot off for a while, they’re not so hard to deal with. Some are pretty funny, and some are just to be ignored. There are people out there who delight in trashing books, and sometimes the authors of books too, for reasons unknown to most decent humans. Sometimes it’s jealousy, and sometimes it’s just because they’re mean. Sometimes also these one star stabs to the soul are perfectly legitimate in their author’s hearts and minds, because they really didn’t enjoy what you wrote for reasons that do or don’t make sense to you. Whatever the reasons are…

View original post 729 more words

6 thoughts on “Rotten Reviews and Terrible Trolls

    davidprosser said:
    August 4, 2016 at 11:23 pm

    Very true Jo as I found out to my cost when I responded to a troll. Ignoring them is the best way to deal with them as the attention is food and drink to them unless you have a rapier wit that cuts them to size and other readers may be scared to review if you respond like that. Unless you’re an atrocious writer the bad reviews will be few and far between, let others deduce the lack of value in the one star reviews and you just carry on writing.
    xxx Massive Hugs Jo xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    lbeth1950 said:
    August 5, 2016 at 2:20 pm

    I don’t review if I can’t say good things.

    Like

    Teagan Geneviene said:
    August 5, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    Well said Jo!!! I love it when you get up on your soapbox.
    Not terribly long ago a reader who’d been following me for over a year, suddenly sent me a note saying I “shouldn’t be suffered to live” because I write fantasy. I deeply resent being the target of that kind of hate-speech and bigotry, but I knew better than to respond.
    The cereal bowl of life is overflowing with fruits and nuts.
    TGIF and hugs!

    Like

    dgkaye said:
    August 6, 2016 at 1:40 am

    I read this at Lit and still love it!🙂

    Like

    danniehill said:
    August 6, 2016 at 1:13 pm

    I agree, Jo. Authors do bleed over bad reviews and it is a part of the life. The one’s that I find insufferable are the reviews from those who didn’t actually read the book

    Like

    Susanne Leist said:
    August 12, 2016 at 2:08 am

    They strike through your heart like a knife. My most recent review used one word ‘terrible’ to describe my book. No reasons. I wanted to scream out, “Why?” I guess I’ll never know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

