LOL and Stuff

Posted on

I saw an episode of Come Dine With Me where one contestant actually said the letters OMG quite a few times.  She obviously wasn’t trying to be funny – saying this seemed to come out as part of her normal conversation, but I do wonder why anyone would actually say the letters rather than the words in the first place.  You aren’t going to get a sore mouth or fingers by verbally saying whole words.  Maybe when something’s funny she could just deadpan say ROTFL rather than actually laughing.  Or simply LOL if it wasn’t all that funny.  Hopefully we’ll never get to saying Smiley Face or Like in our conversations.  Everyone who zooms around online these days is part of this culture of communication.  I do love my smiley faces, but I wonder where we’ll all be in another ten years as technology advances even further.
These days people probably don’t get bored in waiting rooms and come over all Mr Bean.  Everyone has a phone, and everywhere you look people are looking down at them or aiming them at something or other.  I’ve got a couple of books downloaded onto Kindle on mine, although admittedly I’ve never used it to read – I mainly wanted to see what my Kindle books looked like on my phone because us Indies need to see our scribbles on as many devices as possible.  They look cool.  I’m sure that lots of people do play games or read on their phones on train journeys and so on though, and that’s just the same as reading a book anyway.  But everyone else who is not reading is also doing something on their phones.  Personally I’m way too interested in people watching, but that’s just me and my nosy ways.  I remember reading a story ages ago where those big headed grey aliens who go around apparently abducting people and fiddling with them in terrifying and offensive ways turned out to be us from the future.  A future where we’d spent all our time physically doing nothing.  All our activity happened in our heads, hence the overly large noggin and wasted away tiny bodies.  The aliens wanted to use us, their ancestors, to fix their problem.
Personally I’ve noted that the old bod tends to expand rather than waste away with too much of sitting, but you never know what could happen as technology advances.  Maybe a skinny pill really will be discovered at some point – one that exercises you without you having to unglue your eyeballs from whatever screen you’re looking at.  Anyway.
Hopefully all you properly seated for the month NaNoers are going great guns.  This is one time that the dreaded writer’s block can’t get you, because what you write doesn’t have to make perfect sense right now.  So remain firmly on bum and scribble to the finish line.  Kick that rotten block to the kerb!

Writer's Block

23 thoughts on “LOL and Stuff

    Sarina said:
    November 24, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    There are two ladies working with me actually use just that kind of language. Mind you our age gap is a meer 10 years and saying that makes me feel old.

    Like

    Charles Yallowitz said:
    November 24, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    In 10 years we’ll be talking exclusively in text speak because we’ll no longer be able to maintain our attention beyond 140 characters. I’ve actually met people that say ‘LOL’ with a straight face. Pointing out that they’re not laughing out loud seems to confuse them.

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 25, 2015 at 4:32 am

      Twitter will rule the world. I REALLY want to insert a smiley face here now. I seriously would not know what to say to someone who said LOL to me.

      Like

        Charles Yallowitz said:
        November 25, 2015 at 1:56 pm

        Twitter is such an odd creation. It’s obvious that it was intended for simple messages, but people use it as a detailed news source. Like reading only the headlines of the newspaper. As for someone saying LOL, I just point out that they’re not laughing.

        Like

    Elle Knowles said:
    November 24, 2015 at 3:30 pm

    Sometimes I receive emails with text write and that really bothers me…~Elle

    Liked by 2 people

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 25, 2015 at 4:34 am

      I’m guilty of that sometimes but not in emails to anyone other than friends. I know that even the smiley faces irritate some people, although I’m properly addicted to those little guys.

      Liked by 1 person

    Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. said:
    November 24, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    How many of you say Oh My God or do you use OMG, if so perhaps as Jo infers you may have been infected with an internet virus… or maybe beamed up to an alien space craft and deconstructed.. LOL and other things.. read on…..

    Liked by 1 person

    Jack Eason said:
    November 24, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    I avoid text speak like the plague. I leave that up to the younger generation.😉

    Liked by 1 person

      Juana said:
      November 24, 2015 at 10:21 pm

      That’s not really fair. I know eloquent young people who don’t use text speak.

      Like

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 25, 2015 at 4:36 am

      I don’t mind it when it’s written as an sms or comment – it’s just seriously weird when spoken out loud. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    olganm said:
    November 24, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    I worry that we’ll have no bodies and no brains either…

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 25, 2015 at 4:38 am

      That’s a real point too – some of us spend way too much time in front of our computers. We should do a bit of IRL now and then too. 😀😀

      Like

    Peter Wells aka Countingducks said:
    November 24, 2015 at 9:10 pm

    I can get addicted to that programme and often see quite a lot of odd behaviour on it, never mind the language !

    Liked by 1 person

      jorobinson176 responded:
      November 25, 2015 at 4:41 am

      True! I’m totally hooked on it. People can be outrageous – specially after a bit of vino. I’m also an absolute chopped fanatic – thinking about playing with that for a weekly blog next year.

      Like

    curtisbausse said:
    November 25, 2015 at 10:50 am

    Survival of the fittest – we’ll be born with lights on our foreheads, one colour for Like, another for LOL etc. Which means, in fact, we’ll be robots.

    Like

    patriciaruthsusan said:
    November 25, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    That’s rather scary. O_o — Suzanne

    Like

    dgkaye said:
    November 26, 2015 at 6:14 am

    Now that was really good stuff! LOL🙂

    Like

    Carrie Reimer said:
    December 5, 2015 at 11:01 am

    I love Come Dine With Me!, I go in spurts of watching episodes on the net. I have never had anyone say LOL or ROTF, in seriousness but I can see it coming. I hate it when everyone is staring at their phone instead of talking to each other at a social gathering. My brother is one of the worst for texting while at family functions etc. I am old school, I find it rude if I am talking to someone and they are texting at the same time. I leave my phone in my purse or car when I go out socially. What’s the point of getting together if all you are going to do is text the whole time?
    I can’t believe I have never dropped by your site before! I will be back!🙂 smiley face.

    Like

    Ali Isaac said:
    December 5, 2015 at 2:50 pm

    I hate text speak in general, but I do use LOL and smiley faces, oh and sometimes WTF! It’s just that if you are an expressive person, it just doesn’t come across in a typed brief message, sometime you need to add some oomph so that the reader can understand how you are feeling as you write. In face to face there are so many non verbal signs which do this when you talk. Its a sad fact that younger generations who have grown up with text speak do insert it into normal speech. But living with this generation and watching them and their friends grow into adulthood, I can honestly say it does not inhibit their ability to converse or interact, as older generations seem to think. Its a very misleading generalisation spread by a generation who have been left behind by technology and so don’t understand it and fear it. When people linger at the breakfast table on a Sunday morning with their heads bowed over their phones they are more than likely reading the Sunday papers on them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

