Deadlines and Goal Setting

Posted on

Lit World Interviews

The very thought of setting deadlines for your work is anathema to some writers.  They believe that having a fixed time to complete a story will knobble their creativity and result in them churning out awful hogwash.  I don’t agree – personally I think that there’s joy to be found in a little bit of discipline.  Possibly if you set unrealistic deadlines you will indeed find yourself knobbled and not produce your best work, but reasonable time set for a project can inspire you to work at it every day rather than watching soaps because you have all the time in the world after all.  Truthfully, we don’t have all the time in the world, and if we want to leave a legacy of stories, we need to get them written down.  Goal setting helps us do this.

Deadlines can be terrifying things when life gets in the way in…

View original post 511 more words

3 thoughts on “Deadlines and Goal Setting

    Stephen Liddell said:
    December 3, 2015 at 1:52 pm

    I really like this post. I strongly believe that deadlines are not only a must but often an assistance to my writing. I try and treating my writing like any other job and that means taking it seriously and not letting things drag out. If sometimes life ruins the plan, that’s ok but still quickly make a new deadline and stick to it otherwise Parkinson’s Law will expand to take up your entire life and you’ll only have a fraction of the books you ever wanted to write.

    I remember writing my WW1 history book Lest We Forget and I just picked 28 chapter headings and said to myself that every day I was going to write a chapter which is crazy when you think of it. I did slip once I still had the entire book finished in 30 days and that included the research. Really the project could have taken an entire year or more but one can write a lot if you actually sit down and write and not try to do anything but write.

    Like

    Colin Noel-Johnson said:
    December 4, 2015 at 4:33 am

    You have a point, but sometimes I work better without a hard deadline. Of course, everyone is different and I’m sure deadlines are very helpful to some people.

    Like

    dgkaye said:
    December 5, 2015 at 11:23 pm

    Fab article Jo. I read on Lit World. But of course sharing again. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

